Mæstria

The symphonic tale of a violonist and her surgeon

The show

In this thought-provoking and visually rich musical production, a violinist and her surgeon come together to deliver a universal message of hope, as we will all have to face different kinds of hardship sooner or later. Their message is anchored in reality, as it tells the true story of Anne Robert who was operated by Dr. Alain Gagnon on December 3, 2010.

MAESTRIA
From chaos to serenity, a journey within.

The meeting

Maestria stems from an exceptional meeting between a former CHUM patient, who is a renown violinist, and her surgeon, himself a pianist. It is also a profoundly human story where music and words come together to evoke a difficult life experience, leading to a rich inner journey.

For a good cause

Maestria is a charity project supporting various foundations, including the Fondation du CHUM and its Prevention and Treatment for Genetically Linked Cancers Foundation. Maestria will bring people comfort and hope, especially for those dealing with hardship in their daily lives.

Who are they?

Anne Robert,

Violin

Accomplished artist and violinist Anne Robert is renowned for her “sensibility, warm sound, dexterity and elegant phrasing” (The Strad Magazine, London). She enjoys an active career and regularly plays in Europe, the United States, Asia and across Canada. Anne Robert is a member of Trio Hochelaga, which she founded in 2000. She performs regularly with the organist Jacques Boucher. In 2012, she developed with Dr. Alain Gagnon Maestria, an artistic charity project benefiting various foundations, including the Fondation du CHUM, to support the Prevention and Treatment for Genetically Linked Cancers Foundation.

She received the highest diplomas in interpretation from Indiana University, from the Royal Academy of Music in London and the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal. First violin of the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal for twelve years, Anne Robert’s discography contains more than thirty-five titles which reveal her vast and varied repertoire and her particular affinity for French music. Renowned pedagogue, she teaches at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal and at the International Summer Academy of the Orford Arts Center. Anne Robert plays on a 1738 Carlo Antonio Testore violin.

www.annerobert.com

Dr. Alain Gagnon,

Piano

From La Sarre in Abitibi, Alain Gagnon began his musical studies at Pierre-Laporte High School in the Town of Mount Royal. He then enrolled at the École de musique Vincent-d’Indy, where he was taught by the renowned Sister Lucille Brassard. He studied for his degree in interpretation in Pierre Jasmin and Henri Brassard’s classes at the Université du Québec à Montréal. He has made solo appearances, notably with the I Musici de Montréal Chamber Orchestra. He has won numerous prizes in different competitions, including music competitions in Quebec and Canada.

In 1991, he switched careers to study science, earning a degree in biochemistry at the Université de Montréal. After receiving his doctorate of medicine at McGill University, he completed his residency in plastic surgery in 2005 at the Université de Montréal. He then completed another year of training in microsurgery and perforator flaps at the Ghent University Hospital in Belgium, and spent a second year on the same subject at the Maisonneuve-Rosemont Hospital. He has been practicing plastic surgery at the Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CHUM) since 2007, focusing on breast surgery and aesthetic surgery. An active member of the community, he won the J.-P. Bossé Award, handed out by CHUM residents to an instructor for the quality of their teaching. In 2012, he developed with violinist Anne Robert Maestria, an artistic charity project benefiting various foundations, including the Fondation du CHUM.

www.dralaingagnon.ca

Date Friday, May 3, 2019 at 7:30 P.M.
Location Salle Pierre-Mercure 300 Boul. Maisonneuve east
Regular tickets 35$
VIP tickets 150$ (including a tax receipt of 100$ and a cocktail at 9 P.M.)

Credits

Anne Robert Violin
Dr. Alain Gagnon Piano
François Racine Text and stage director
André Raymond Advisor and video director
Cédric Lord Set and costume design
Renaud Pettigrew Lighting design
Sylvain Prairie Technical director
Stéphane Binet Production manager
Alain Belhumeur Video editor
André-Paul Thériault Director of photography
Pierre Lévesque Audio director
Michelle Arcand Make-up
Sid Lee Brand creation

Mæstria

Récit symphonique d'une violoniste et son chirurgien

Le spectacle

Dans ce spectacle musical enrichi de réflexions et d’évocations visuelles, la violoniste et son chirurgien livrent ensemble un message universel d’espoir car, un jour ou l’autre, nous aurons tous à affronter divers types d’épreuves. Leur communication est ancrée dans le réel puisqu’elle raconte la véritable histoire d’Anne Robert, opérée par le Dr Alain Gagnon, le 3 décembre 2010.

MAESTRIA
Du chaos à la sérénité, un parcours tout intérieur.

La rencontre

Maestria est le fruit d’une rencontre d’exception entre une ex-patiente du CHUM, violoniste de renom, et son chirurgien, également pianiste. C’est aussi un récit profondément humain, où la musique et les mots se conjuguent pour évoquer une expérience de vie difficile qui ouvre la voie à un riche voyage intérieur.

Pour une bonne cause

Maestria est un projet caritatif qui soutient différentes fondations dont la Fondation du CHUM et son Fonds pour la prévention et le traitement des cancers à caractère génétique. Maestria apportera réconfort et espoir à tous et plus particulièrement aux personnes qui ont à affronter différentes épreuves dans leur quotidien.

Qui sont-ils?

Anne Robert,

violon

Artiste accomplie, la violoniste Anne Robert est reconnue pour son jeu qui exprime « sensibilité, suavité du son, dextérité et élégance du phrasé » (The Strad Magazine, Londres). Elle mène une carrière active qui la conduit régulièrement en Europe, aux États-Unis, en Asie et dans les diverses provinces canadiennes. Anne Robert est membre du Trio Hochelaga qu’elle a fondé en 2000. Elle s’associe régulièrement avec l’organiste Jacques Boucher. En 2012, elle a mis sur pied, avec le Dr Alain Gagnon, Maestria, un projet caritatif et artistique au profit de différentes fondations, dont la Fondation du CHUM, pour soutenir le Fonds pour la prévention et le traitement des cancers à caractère génétique.

Son parcours artistique est ponctué d’obtention de nombreuses distinctions et des plus hauts diplômes d’interprétation de l’Université d’Indiana, de la Royal Academy of Music de Londres et du Conservatoire de musique de Montréal. Premier violon à l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal pendant douze ans, Anne Robert a enregistré plus de 35 disques qui révèlent l’éclectisme de son répertoire et son intérêt marqué pour la musique française. Pédagogue appréciée, elle enseigne au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal et à l’Académie Internationale Orford Musique. Anne Robert joue sur un violon de Carlo Antonio Testore de 1738.

www.annerobert.com

Dr Alain Gagnon,

piano

Originaire de La Sarre en Abitibi, Alain Gagnon amorce des études musicales à l’école Pierre-Laporte à Ville Mont-Royal avant de s’inscrire à l’École Vincent-d’Indy, où il reçoit l’enseignement de la réputée sœur Lucille Brassard. Il poursuit ses études au baccalauréat en interprétation dans les classes de Pierre Jasmin et d’Henri Brassard à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Il est invité à se produire comme soliste, notamment avec l’orchestre de chambre I Musici de Montréal. En parallèle, il est de nombreuses fois lauréat de différents concours, dont les concours de musique du Québec et du Canada.

En 1991, il réoriente sa carrière vers les sciences et obtient un baccalauréat en biochimie de l’Université de Montréal. Docteur en médecine de l’Université McGill, il complète sa résidence en chirurgie plastique à l’Université de Montréal en 2005. Puis, il effectue une formation complémentaire d’une année, axée sur la microchirurgie et lambeaux perforants à l’Hôpital universitaire de Gand en Belgique de même qu’une deuxième année portant sur le même sujet à l‘Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont. Il est chirurgien plasticien au Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CHUM) depuis 2007 et concentre sa pratique en chirurgie du sein et en chirurgie esthétique. Engagé dans la communauté, il est lauréat du prix J.-P. Bossé, décerné à un professeur par les résidents, pour la qualité de son enseignement. En 2012, il a mis sur pied, avec la violoniste Anne Robert, Maestria, un projet caritatif et artistique au profit de différentes fondations, dont la Fondation du CHUM.

www.dralaingagnon.ca

Date Jeudi 8 novembre 2018 à 19 h 30
Emplacement Amphithéâtre du Gesù 1200, de Bleury, Montréal (Gratuit. Laissez-passer obligatoire)
Date Dimanche 11 novembre 2018 à 14 h 30
Emplacement Salle Rolland-Brunelle 20, rue Saint-Charles-Borromée N, Joliette

Crédits

Anne Robert Violon
Dr Alain Gagnon Piano
François Racine Texte et mise en scène
André Raymond Conseil et réalisation vidéo
Cédric Lord Scénographie
Renaud Pettigrew Conception d'éclairage
Sylvain Prairie Direction technique
Stéphane Binet Direction de production
Alain Belhumeur Montage vidéo
André-Paul Thériault Direction photo
Pierre Lévesque Direction audio
Michelle Arcand Maquillage
Sid Lee Conception de marque